In 2012, direct PhD programme in Library and Information Science was launched. The programme received an overwhelming response from the librarians and information professionals working in NGOs, School libraries, academic and research institutes/ university libraries, etc. Currently 20 scholars are pursuing research.

Centre has following 3 faculties who are recognized as Research Supervisors:

Dr.Satish Kanamadi

Dr.Mallikarjun Angadi


The areas of research are Knowledge Society, Information Seeking Behaviour, Information Access and Services, Information Organization, e-resources, Digitization, Collection Building in Digital Library, Information and Digital Literacy, and other emerging areas in the discipline of LISc.

List of Research Scholars pursuing PhD in Library Sciences

  1. Mr.Puttaraj Choukimath

  2. Mr.Prabhu Gaddimani

  3. Ms.Sheetal Tank

  4. Ms.Suman Muddapur

  5. Mr.Sanjeev Kumar Sunny

  6. Mr.Nilesh Shewale

  7. Mr.Ashok Kumar

  8. Mr.Deelip Mestri

  9. Mr.Girish Revankar

  10. Mr.Uday Jadhav

  11. Mr.Moses M

  12. Mr.Rahul Hiremath

  13. Mr.Kalpesh Medhe

  14. Ms.Natita Waiyahong

  15. Ms.Srikanthaluxmy Arulanantham

  16. Mr.Appasaheb naikal

  17. Mr.Manju Naik

  18. Ms.Amala Patvardhan

  19. Mr.Baban More

  20. Ms.Nirupama Warrier